Things I Liked In February

Each month I do a post covering ‘things I liked’ – from articles to videos to tv shows to books to anything in between. I was overseas in most of January and February, so I’m a little behind. But here’s what I liked in February. What have you liked this month?

Let’s start with a dog pun. Capture.PNG(sorry).

The Execution of Lady Jane Grey

Guys I love history. So much. All of it. But Reformation history – Tudor England – you are speaking my language. I don’t read the Gospel Coalition much, but this article was interesting and engaging without stereotyping and repeating common historical inaccuracies about Jane Grey, the girl who was Queen for nine days.

Why You’ve Already Failed Your New Year’s Resolutions

I feel like I recommend something from Nina Kardia every month, but I can’t help it, her writing is just too good. Please read this blog, especially if you have ever been disappointed in your ability to meet your goals (so that means everyone should go read it). It contains this gem of advice in achieving, well, anything:

Think about where you’d like to be year from now.  (Hitting the gym for an hour a day.)  Then think about what you can realistically achieve this week.  (Walk around outside for 10 minutes before breakfast a couple of times.) Then do that.  Re-assess next week.  Repeat.

The Lady In The Tower (By Alison Weir)

download (3).jpg

More history. I’m not even sorry. This book, by Alison Weir, is exactly the kind of history book I love best – a detailed analysis of primary sources and a dismantling of our preconceived ideas about events in history that have often moved from collective memory and fact to collective myth and storytelling. It focuses on the three months leading up to Anne Boleyn’s arrest, trial and execution – the first execution of a Queen of England ever.

(Even Eleanor of Aquitaine, who helped her sons stage a rebellion against their father and King, her husband Henry II, was only placed under house arrest. Isabella of France, who did commit adultery, disposed her husband, Edward the II and ruled England with her lover, Roger Mortimer in the name of her son, Edward the III, suffered the punishment of being committed to a nunnery after she and Mortimer were ousted from power).

Also, this book makes a number of logical points I haven’t seen clearly stated elsewhere – for example, Anne Boleyn couldn’t be both guilty of adultery AND never have been the King’s lawful wife. You can’t have it both ways Henry VIII!

Coffee Coffee Coffee Coffee Coffee

I missed my family, my friends, my pets and my church while I was away. I also desperately missed having access to a good flat white. I am so spoiled for choice, but seriously, Australia, I love you and your coffee.

Human Life Is Getting Better 

The world can suck. But it used to suck more. People, especially small babies, don’t die as often from things like a lack of access to food and medical care. There’s still work to do. But there’s hope. Watch this video. It contains this great quote:

“And I really believe that as a species, our success is best judged not by how the richest or the best connected amongst us live, but how the poor and the oppressed and the vulnerable live.”

 

Hedger Humour

This instagram account posts the delightfully hilarious comics of Adrienne Hedger. Check it out. This is probably my favourite of her (recent) comics (definitely not because I do this all the time):

Capture.PNG

The West Wing Reunion: Walk and Talk

I just like it when people from the West Wing do basically anything. I can’t help it.

Leave a Reply

