Links I Liked In November

In my travels around the internet I encounter many fun and useful things – and rather than harassing my friends and family by sending link after link, I’ve decided to compile a list each month of my favourite links.

This list is a little early, and also includes some links from late October, but from now on it will hopefully be a monthly thing, posted in the last week of each month. I’ll try to resist just listing 10 different dog videos.  So here’s some fun links for you!

Free Printable Wardrobe Planner

I recently reorganized my approach to my wardrobe hugely, and having a tool like this would have made the whole process so much simpler! If you are thinking about doing a capsule wardrobe or a minimalist approach to what clothes you buy and wear, check this planner out, even if it just for ideas.

A Quick And Dirty Guide To Feudal Nobility

I am all about historical fiction. I love anything set in this time period – the Norman Conquest to the War of the Roses in England and anything up to and including the Renaissance in the rest of Europe. If you have ever wondered why the wife of an Earl is called a Countess, this is the article for you (was it just me wondering about that? Okay, that’s cool).

The Most Excited Dog Ever

A dog owner who should get all the awards dressed as his dog’s favourite toy for Halloween which resulted in the Happiest Dog Ever. I’ve watched in about 300 times this week.

When Bravery Means Being Less Agreeable

I have recently discovered Allie’s blog, and I am so glad I did. This blog, like so much of her writing, echos my soul in a deep-down way. Here’s an excerpt:

I used to think that it wasn’t okay to have negative feelings. Anger, sadness, or disgust were emotions to be snuffed out and stuffed down as quickly and quietly as possible. I didn’t think it was possible to be loving and disagree with someone at the same time. That empathy and the word “no” were mutually exclusive.

What to learn to be brave? Me too. I’m working on it. Read Allie’s blog for some encouragement in this hard task.

Confessions of a Non-Hugger

I have mixed feelings about physical affection and the expectations around it in society. Like the author of this article, I think hugs are great – but I also want them to meaningful. I generally only hug people I am close to – so if you hug me before I reach that level of comfort with you, it will make me feel very awkward. And I hate feeling awkward. Anyway, read the article and please don’t be offended.

Discovering that I’m an INFJ Personality Type Changed My Life 

Okay, this one is probably only interesting to me, or other INFJ personality types, or actually just all introverts. Even if that’s not you, at least read this paragraph:

After pouring over tons of articles about INFJs, I feel a lot more confident in who I am. Whenever I need to explain my boundaries to people, I don’t feel like a horrible, selfish person. Nothing of who I was ever made sense to me in the past. I figured I was an abnormal, miserable person. But now that I’m clued in on why I am the way I am, it’s a lot easier to navigate through this life, as hard as it already is. Finding other introverts who deal with the same issues has been so helpful for me as well. As they share their stories, I feel like I’m talking to a kindred spirit who’s been there, done that, and survived.

Blooming Marshmallow Flowers

If you are looking to dramatically up the level of your hot chocolate game, check out these marshmallows shaped like flowers that bloom when placed in a hot cup.

How to have a crap-free Christmas: Emotional Baggage Edition

Nina Kardia is one of my internet happy places, and this article acknowledges some of the hard truths about the ‘joyful season’ of Christmas – sometimes it’s not so joyful. But there is also a ton of helpful and practical advice for making the most of the holidays in a low(er) stress and meaningful way.

Another Dog

I just really like dogs, okay? This video of a dog not realizing how deep the water is had me laughing far too much.

Supergirl Season 2 and Immigration Politics

…but few could’ve predicted that a series previously criticized for being too lighthearted and bubbly would opt to stake it’s sophmore season fortunes on an extended metaphor for the white-hot political firestorm surrounding U.S. immigration policy.

Supergirl Season 2 has taken things to a new level and I, like most of the show’s fans, are soaking it up. With an increasing amount of aliens calling home earth, the show is starting to explore themes of immigration, politics, assimilation and hostilities. I love it. (Warning – the article contains spoilers).

And finally, please watch this dog yawn.

Thanks for reading and see you all soon!

P.S. Let me know which links you liked, found useful or adorable. Always wanting to hear from those that read my little corner of the internet!

One thought on “Links I Liked In November

  1. inohnothing

    So happy to meet another INFJ! Although I’m not sure I want to categorize myself as an INFJ since I can be a bit of an ambivert at times, but that is the Myers-Briggs type I score consistently on (once got ENFJ and once INTJ). I have offended some people in the past by just doing a disappearing act on them when overwhelmed, tired, or sick, like the Irish exit at a party. I’d do something awkward like stepping too loud and they’d catch me trying to leave without saying goodbye. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

